Picture
I’m a fan of many movies and television shows. Ask me anything and I can provide you an accurate answer in a little less than a minute. Okay, maybe I was a little exaggerating because I am not that much of a couch potato. Sure, I know enough about Hollywood movies and television series like Castle, the Big Bang Theory, and Grey’s Anatomy. But for some that I don’t, I simply haven’t given time to go through all them. A man’s got to work, you know! Nevertheless, I still get to browse what’s catching the attention of the crowd, and here’s my observation: they are all about the living dead or at least, some form of it (vampires).  I’m pertaining to the nth number of zombies that the extraordinary Alice of Resident Evil has been battling for five or less instalments now.

Why is that we’re so fond of seeing the dead take over our planet and us putting bullets onto their heads? We place them in games, music, and even put them as cell phone cover designs just for fun. Is it the thrill of killing the bad kind? Or maybe the freedom to be able to put death upon something deserving of it because we are incapable of doing such in today’s government laws? How about we stop showing those possible outcomes and start the tell-tale of how we can prevent it from ever happening? Is that a good idea for you? It sure is for me.

The one and only solution I could think of that could actually stop the world from ever reaching the apocalypse is to throwaway the smartphones or any other form of addicting technology that have almost taken over them. As helpful as they are in all aspects especially convenience, smartphones have rendered us zombie-like already. The fault is with us, not with technology. So why should we throw them away?

Simple. There are only two variables to the equation: people and technology. Since it’s completely against the law to kill people, you kill off the other, and that is technology. Think about it, if the apocalypse ever comes to fruition, can you use the expensive tablet accessories to battle the endless number of zombies fighting over your brains? It’s possible. But there’s only one in a million chances you could survive. You would still be bitten and it’s only death that awaits you, so yeah, still your loss. Ha!

I don’t ever wanna go through that, much less think about it (even when I just did). I’m quite sure you don’t want either... right? Let’s look at it at another angle –invasion of the machines. What sparks the machines to motion? Technology. There you go! It’s not that I’m asking you to give it up completely. No one can. Even I can’t. But it should and must be done.

Now here I am trying to convince you once again how adverse the effects of technology can become when utilized to its limitations. It might be hopeless, it might not. Every accomplishment comes from the decision to try. Who’s to say I won’t get through each mind reading this article and persuade you to give up the addiction right here, right now?





Leave a Reply.

    Nick Selvig

    Nick is a man full of risks. He enjoys a challenge every now and then which is why even if it isn't his chosen profession, he takes it all in.